Insane Audio User Forum

A public forum for discussing Insane Audio's super awesome in-dash multimedia and navigation systems!

GoPro on your JK1001

Doing something interesting with your Insane Audio head unit? This is the place to share!

GoPro on your JK1001

by InsaneAudioSupport » Wed Nov 12, 2014 10:53 am

Firstly, we've got to give props to Dan C. for sharing this with us via Facebook. We are re-posting here on the forum with his permission.

Apparently, there is a GoPro Android app that works great on the JK1001. It ultimately connects to the GoPro device via WiFi through it's own network (not requiring internet connectivity).

Through the app, you gain full control of the camera. All the video is stored on the GoPro just like normal but video is also streamed to the JK1001. You can obviously mount the GoPro camera anywhere you want on your Jeep.

Image


This was just too cool... we had to share with the forum. ;)
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:09 pm

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by ruubdood » Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:13 pm

Very cool. Maybe Ill spring for a gopro now.
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by Islandman » Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:37 am

Nice....will hook it up just as soon as I stop browsing this forum...
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:46 am

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by Casper711 » Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:27 am

I tried this tonight and worked great! Can't wait to use it today! New to the whole gopro thing though and I'm worried it will fly off while driving.
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:34 am

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by stitch8819 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:20 am

I attempt to this last night, and when I bring up GoPro capture app I can swipe left and right the explore view and share, but I don't seen the option to connect to GoPro or Add go pro is there something I am missing?
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by Mike » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:54 am

Been doing this since before Christmas. Using the Go-Pro Hero session, was on sale big-time just before Christmas.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jg_PgwvXQjw

Mike -- El Paso, TX.
Mike -- El Paso, Texas.

2015 JKU-R Hard Rock -- The Copperhead.
.
User avatar
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: El Paso, Texas, USA.

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by jkoch8819 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:44 am

This is where I get stuck... I cant see where to add the Gopro on my samsung I have add device under the control... Please help hitting trails this weekend...
It looks like I am not seeing the entire screen like i need to scroll down... but how??
Attachments
IMG_4128.JPG
IMG_4128.JPG (61.68 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:27 am

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by jkoch8819 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:25 am

I can't be the only one who has had this issue
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:27 am

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by KrisK » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:06 am

Same issue, can't get my go pro app to work.
It's a landscape issue. The button you need to click is below the screen and we can't scroll down.
User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:26 am

Re: GoPro on your JK1001

by InsaneAudioSupport » Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:32 pm

Hey, all. So we've seen this working great dozens of times... so today, after a few beers at the local brewery, we decided to see what the heck is going on. Sure enough -- we got the same results at the shop. The app doesn't seem to work in landscape mode! What the heck?? This is odd, because we're positive that it worked before. It looks like our friends at GoPro made some changes to their app that doesn't play well with devices that are always in landscape mode.

Unfortunately, we have no control over the GoPro app itself... but... since we know this worked before, we went and found an older version of their APK and SUCCESS!

You can find the APK here -- http://insanejeepaudio.com/APK/

In our case, we tested with a GoPro Hero 5 Black (but we selected Hero+ on the main menu to connect). Everything appears to be working fine.

So.. use this .apk and you should be good to go, but hopefully our friends at GoPro will fix their app going forward so we can use the latest version.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,

InSaNe AuDio Support Staff
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:09 pm

Next

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
cron